top of page

My best friend is getting married this weekend

I am aware that I have not posted and that is basically because life and mental illness. I will go through how life is with mental illness another time. Today I wanted to share something I have been working on for my friend's wedding. I wanted to make her something she could put on her walls that did not say like Mr and Mrs.

I was walking around Michael's trying to find inspiration when I got to the clearance section. There were crap ton of different size letters. I spent a good 20 mins digging through baskets. I was trying to find a R, M and "&" to make like a three letter thing on a board but I could not find the letters all in the same style. I finally found a large "F" which will be the initial to their last name. It was super marked down and came out to be about $0.30. When I decided to work on this piece, I was trying to think of how to do it. I had never used resin on a flat object before but I had done something like this with acrylic paint. My thought was, what is the worst that can happen? So I mixed up some resin, poured about 1/2 in to each dixie cup and to one I added bright blue mica powder with blue glitter flakes. The other cup I added a golden blue mica powder. I then let the resin sit for a about 20 mins to thicken up since I did not want it super fluid and be able to sit on top of the letter. It just decreases its viscosity since I use a long working time resin. This works with the resin I use but with other brands that have a shorter working time, you wouldn't need it to sit for that long.

After I let the resin sit and "thicken" I hit it quickly with the heat gun to pop the bubbles that settled to the surface. Using a popsicle stick, I applied the two resin colors. I know it takes longer, but I use the stick as a spoon. It helps me keep control of the resin when adding it to small things or making a design. I use a tooth pick to swirl and blend to my liking. I let this cure over night and next day it needed a few touch up spots. So I applied a little more as needed. I let this then cure for 3 days before bringing it up to my office for the next step.

The next step I used my Cricut Maker. I am new to Cricut and still experimenting and learning. I also I am stubborn and like to figure things out on my own. I have issues sometimes with tutorials I find on the internet. Just because of the amount of gatekeeping and a lot of people find they need to have all the toys and gadgets to craft. I like to find what works for me and I always try and save money when I can. Anyway, I decided to find a font I like the capital letters and numbers in. In this project I used Pristina, which is a free system font on my computer. I wrote out Ryan & Megan then while it was still in the text box I went up to the top of the screen where it says More and clicked Advanced. The Advanced option gives you the ability to ungroup the text to letters. This makes each letter their own moveable piece. Then I always arrange my letters how I like them and then select all the letters and then attach them. This tells the machine to keep it in this format and where you placed the letters exactly. I then used their wedding date of 10/15/2021 and used heart from the shapes menu as the dashes between the numbers. Then I cut it out on the machine and attached the gold permanent vinyl to the resin. Since this is a decoration I did not seal the vinyl and if it was going to be touched all the time (like a cup or wine glass) then I would have sealed it. I then took a gold premium oil based paint marker and colored the edges. Finally I sanded the little resin nubs off the back and added a metal hanging bar with super glue.

Below are the links to some of my products I used on this project. These are my own personal preference, you can use what ever makes you happy. I have also added some pictures of the final product. Thank you for reading and enjoy crafting!

If you like what you see and want a custom one made for you or your friends then please go to my contact me page and use the email form. Please note this process takes time and I would need 2 weeks to get it complete and mailed out to you.

Please follow me on my socials:

Instagram :

TikTok :

if you liked my blog post and would like to see more please buy me a coffee!

TEEXPERT Resin

​Rolio - Mica Powder

Soap Beautiful - Mica Powder

ORACAL 651 Vinyl - Gold

Craft Smart Chisel Tip Paint Pen




2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page